Default Format: 7 p.m.., Wed., Oct. 27 | Bayou City Event Center

Jackie Sherrill-white sweater

Touchdowner of the Year-100th Anniversary of 12th Man

7 p.m., Wed., Oct. 27, 2021, Bayou City Event Center

It’s a once-in-a-lifetime event — the Touchdown Club of Houston will honor Jackie Sherrill as the Touchdowner of the Year for 2021 and celebrate the 100th anniversary of the 12th Man, where E. King Gill came out of the stands and was ready to play for the A&M football team in the 1922 Cotton Bowl.
Scheduled to speak for Sherrill are former Texas Gov. Rick Perry, former Texas A&M All-Southwest Conference LB Reggie Brown and former Texas A&M All-America and Miami Dolphin All-Pro Richmond Webb.
It’s fitting that Jackie is the Touchdowner at this event as he started the 12th Man Team, which employs walk-ons and it still used today.
Given since 1966, past recipients of the Touchdowner include John David Crow, Darrell Royal, Bear Bryant, Sam Baugh, Bobby Layne, Doak Walker, Roger Stabauch, Bill Yeoman, Jack Pardee, Emory Bellard, Earl Campbell, R.C. Slocum, Spike Dykes, Jerry LeVias, Ken Hatfield, Kenny Houston, Thurman Thomas and Dan Pastroini.
The Houston A&M Club will co-sponsor with the TD Club, and will host a silent auction of A&M-specific items.
Individual tickets are $50 each. Tables are 10 seats each, and cost $750 (bronze sponsorship), $1,000 (silver sponsorship), $1,500 (gold sponsorship) and $2,500 (platinum sponsorship). Platinum sponsors receive a special football for the event with the A&M logo, Jackie’s photo and signature.
For more information, call Neal Farmer at 713-849-9860, or email




Choose Package


Share this Event